Wednesday, December 18, 2019

What is ECR and Non ECR?, Documents for It? How to Change from ECR to Non ECR? And Fees required for it?

What are ECR and Non-ECR Passport?

                 When we are applying for Indian Passport there is a question of ECR and Non-ECR which we have to select one option from both. Many peoples had this query about which option to select. These options are related to the Emigration Checking requirement/eligibility of a traveler who is traveling to other countries. Those who are not adults (Not complete 18 Years) and education below matriculation (10th Standard) comes under ECR. If anyone wanted to visit as tourists then there is no difference in the process.
                If anyone is going at working visa for abroad then ECR people require Emigration Check. As per Emigration Act 1983, there are 18 Countries (as per below list) who those working visas require emigration check required.
 1) UAE,
2) Qatar,
3) Saudi Arabia, 
4) Oman,
5) Kuwait,
6) Iraq
7) Bahrain,
8) Brunei,
9) Indonesia,
10) Malaysia,
11) Afghanistan,
12) Sudan
13) Lebanon,
14) Libya,
15) Jordan,
16) Syria,
17) Yemen.
18) Thailand

ECR – Emigration Check Required

                In these category two types of applicants involve:

1. Children under 18 year2. Applicants below matriculation education

                These applicants require ECR for living in the above 18 countries, they have to prove their capabilities to live in that country. In Emigration Check Required (ECR) members, you have to register at Protector – General of Emigration Ministry of Overseas India Affairs. You can transfer your ECR passport to Non-ECR by reissue of passport by giving documents proof. You also can apply for Non-ECR after applicants 50th-year completion of 3 years completed living in aboard( Require minimum 365*3 = 1095 days). On the last page of the passport, we get the stamp of ECR to differentiate.

Non-ECR – Emigration Check Not Required

                For Emigration Check Not Required category below applicants are considered:
1. All persons having an education qualification of matriculation and above.
2. All holders of diplomatic/official passports.
3. All Gazetted Government servants.
4. All Income taxpayers.
5. All professional degree holders, such as Doctors holding MBBS degree or equivalent degree in Ayurveda or homeopathy, Engineers, Chartered Accountants, etc.
6. Spouse or partner and dependent children of the category of the person listed from 2 to 4.
7. Seamen who are in possession of CDC or Sea Cadets, Deck Cadets.
8. Who have passed the final examination of three years B.Sc? Nautical Science Courses a T.S. Chanakya, Mumbai
9. Persons holding permanent Immigration Visa such as the Visas of the UK, USA, and Australia.
10. Who have undergone three months pre-sea training at any of the Government approved Training Institute such as T.S. Chanakya, T.S. Rehman Etc.
11. Persons possessing two years diploma from any institute recognized by the national council for vocational training (SCVT) or persons holding three years diploma/equivalent degree from an institution like polytechnics recognized by central/state government
12. Nurses possessing qualification recognized under the Indian Nursing Council Act 1947.
13. All persons above the age of 50 years.
14. All persons who have been staying abroad for more than three years (the period of three years could be either in one stretch or broken) and their spouses.
15. All children up to the age of 18 years of age (At the time of 18 years, ECR stamping shall be done, if applicable).

                Applicant under 18 years can apply though Non ECR if their parents will live with them at the destination . There is no emigration check required for Non-ECR passports.

  How to change from ECR to Non-ECR?

                If you are in the category of Emigration Check Required then you can apply for None Emigration check required. You can apply or reissue your passport with Non-ECR with the required documents for it.

                Who Can you apply for ECR to Non-ECR?

                1. Matriculation passed after the passport received. ( Require a certificate of matriculation as a document)
                2. Non-matriculation passed:
                                i. Above 50th year old ( Require age proof documents)
                                ii. Income taxpayers( Require income tax certificate of last one year )
                                iii. At least three years stying in abroad ( Min . 365*3=1095 days) – they can apply for non-ECR in India or their living country by Indian Embassy.
                above two categories people can apply for non-ECR with their related documents.

You can apply for ECR to Non-ECR through your passport reissue. The process is as same as the new passport application. You get the option of Reissue when you're filling a form. (Refer below image)
passport+reissue+options+selection+ECR+Non ECR+passport+seva
Select the option as Re-Issue of Passport, then you get the list of reasons why are you reissuing passport. In which select first option i.e. Change in Existing Personal Particulars. By selection of the first option, you get another selection like the below image. You get the list of personal particulars that you can reissue your passport, select delete ECR from this list. After selecting of these options, you have to fill No of pages you required for your passport and Type of passport i.e. Normal or Tatkal. After these selections, you get the same pages to fill as we fill up for a new passport application.

                After form fill up, you have to go for document verification at your selected PSK office with related documents, after this document verification next step, is police verification and then you get the new passport with Non-ECR.

 Documents Required for Appling for Non-ECR:

  •   Old passport
  •    First two and last two pages Xerox with self-attested
  •    ECR or Non-ECR page photocopy of your old passport
  •    If any authority observation having in your passport then took a photocopy of that.
  •    Validity extension page (If it is for short validity)
  •     Eligibility documents of that category as mentioned above
  •     Age proof of address proof (Aadhar Card)

Fee Required For Change ECR to Non-ECR:

                For passport reissue fee required is the same as the new passport application. If you’re applying for a normal passport and 36 Pages of passport then you have to pay 1500 Rs. for it. Refer below image. If you require your passport earlier and your applying from tatkal then you have to pay 2000 Rs. for it, and if you applying for 60 pages if booklet then also you have to pay 2000 Rs for it.
fee+passport+reissue+ECR+Non ECR+passport+seva


Post a Comment